MOMO’S DIARY

Something happened this morning that made me furious.

I was so pissed that it made my morning quite boring.

I had alighted from a tricycle just because I was trying to avoid the traffic I had seen up ahead. I wasn’t in the mood for any patient waiting, I was focused on getting to the bus station, I didn’t want to miss the available bus.

I was walking fast, preoccupied with the thought of not missing the bus when I felt a bus hit me from behind.

“Yeeehhhh” I shouted like a typical Lagosian and jumped out of the way.

The driver who was the culprit drove past me with no iota of remorse but instead had a look of arrogance.

It was like he was saying, “And so, what will you do”?

That look just tripped off the anger button in me.

Although one of the commuters apologized by waving her hand, it did nothing to assuage my anger.

Before I could caution myself, I had uttered a foul word.

I just couldn’t understand how a sane person would choose to hit someone with the bumper of his bus just to get the person out of the way.

To start with, I wasn’t in his way, secondly, he could have used the horn if he wanted to drive on the lane meant for people to walk on.

Though the driver was long gone, what he did was hurtful and it made me wish I had superpowers.

While I plotted a perfect revenge in my mind, assuming I had superpowers, I heard a whisper in my spirit,
“So, this is what you will be doing if you do have super powers”.

This statement sobered me up and got me thinking.

Must I be ruled by my emotions? I can’t control how people treat me or the circumstances that happen to or around me but I can control how I react to them.

My morning would have gone smoothly and fruitfully if I hadn’t held the grudge against the driver for so long.

See ehnnn, you do not need to waste your energy being angry about minute things when the energy can be used to serve a better purpose.

Being angry and vengeful only steals one’s joy, and peace of mind and wastes one’s time too. If you must be angry, choose your anger wisely.☺️😉.

How did your day go today, did anything dramatic happen to you today?

We’ll love to hear from you.

Thank you and do have a lovely week ahead.

Leave a comment