MY RED EXPERIENCE

CHAPTER TWO

I couldn’t concentrate in class. I was busy thinking how the day would go. I had my change of cloths in my bag. I felt bad doing this and wanted to change my mind about going but the thought of been with the happening guys and babes plus a day out with my crush made me convince myself that nothing could go wrong, silencing my conscience with different excuses.
“Are you ready’. I heard Yinka behind me.
I was still trying to pack my books in slow motion maybe that would make him change his mind about me going with him and then I’ll be free of my promise but it seems there was no escaping for me.
I nodded my answer.
I wasn’t expecting him to help me pack but he did and that really embarrassed me because everyone was there watching and I could hear many of the guys and ladies clear their throats.
“Done’ he announced after dropping all my books into my backpack with little or no patience.
I smiled and followed after him while he took the lead.
His driver was already waiting for him. This was already a few minutes past 1pm. I felt uneasy. I didn’t feel like going again but there was no way out. The car had already started moving.
“Here we are!’ he announced with a tone of excitement. I had been so anxious that I didn’t notice when the car stopped.
He opened the car for me to come down and pointed to the place where I could change. He said he’ll change in the car and will wait for me to come back so we can go in together. He explained that everyone present came as a pair and everyone must leave as a pair. I was surprised at the rule but I shrugged it off.
I changed quickly, powdered my face with the small powder I rolled up in a tissue. I was about rolling up the remaining when I saw a girl bring out her make up kit. I was so ashamed that I quickly threw the tissue in the toilet. I smiled shyly and left immediately wondering why someone would bring a makeup bag so big it’ll be enough to servea city.
I sighed when I got to the car. Seeing different faces with different provocative dresses made me wonder where I was. I could hear music blaring from inside.
“I’m ready” I said as I tapped Yinka’s shoulder pulling his attention away from the person he was chatting with.
“Wow.. ‘ he whistled when he saw me.
” Girl, you are so fine’ he exclaimed.
I felt embarrassed again. He said it so loud that all the girls looked at me and the guys winked.
“You look good too’ I said complimenting his dressing in a futile bid to distract him from glaring at me. He held my hand and we went inside together. He wasn’t lieing when he said everyone who went in, did so in pairs and those coming out too were in pairs. The bouncer at the door was huge, when he saw my questioning look at the bouncer he smiled and said, “He’s here for security reasons. ‘
I swallowed a lump in my throat and recited palm 23. I didn’t know why, I just felt like I was going into the valley of the shadows and I needed some backup if it wasn’t too late. I would have just said then and there that I wasn’t interested anymore but I didn’t want to come across to him as a naive little girl, I don’t think I’ll ever forgive myself for that.
Inside was a little OK. I couldn’t believe the faces I was seeing. Junior and senior students from our school. I was surprised to even see a JSS 2 student. I was so surprised I almost called out her name for questioning but quickly cautioned myself that this was not school so the prefect in me had to maintain. Soon I was distracted by Yinka’s stories. Indeed, there was a lot of food and drink, drinks of different colour.
It was a buffet arrangement so we took our plates and served ourselves.
We soon found a secluded place where we sat. I was begining to feel at ease. I was laughing at his every joke, I was acting like a child who just got a new toy and he was giving me all the attention. He had offered me a drink and said it was harmless as it just had a tiny quantity of alcohol. Emphasising the tiny with his tomb and middle finger a little far apart. When he saw my resistance he tried u o cajole me into drinking, I was about accepting a sip when he brought the cup close to my mouth when I heard again
“My son, if sinners entice you, do not consent’
I jerked and looked back immediately. I was surprised. I thought someone had said this but no one was behind me. With this I declined totally. I think my reaction scared him a bit cos he sat upright almost immediately and said OK.
Later, he stood up and said he wanted to get me a drink. I wasn’t so dumb that I didn’t know he might want to bring me another alcohol so I asked for malt instead. He said OK. It took him a while before he came back with an open can of malt.
“I’m sorry it took me a while’ he gave me the can and sat down
‘one of my friends delayed me”.
“Thank you’ I smiled back at him.
We were still talking when a friend of his came to our table. So he excused himself and went with his friend. Lonely I decided to take a sip from my malt when someone bumped into me from behind, spilling the malt on my dress. I wanted to shout at the person but didn’t want to cause a scene. I looked back in anger to find a young boy who was probably drunk. When I looked closer, it was one of the SS2 stubborn students. Intelligent but stubborn.
Angry, I stood from my chair, maneauvred him and went straight for the bathroom. The thought of my sister seeing the stain was more dreadful than anything. I was still on my way to the bathroom when the strap of my shoe opened as I bent to put it back in its proper place I heard Yinka’s voice.
“Of course na, she is the one’
“You mean sey na the babe be that? ‘ I heard his friend say
“Yes na’
‘Nawa ooo. You carry eye go marry ooo. See as the babe set’. He said moving his hands to make the eight figure. I smiled, obviously feeling fly that I was the beauty they were admiring. I was about to stand up and go tell him what just happened when I heard again,
“O boy hope sey u don buzz her drink sha’ his frined asked. Hearing this my hair suddenly became taut. Whose drink is he talking about I asked myself. More than anything I was eager to hear what Yinka would say.
“Why na, I no dey carry last for that kain thing ooo I don do am sharpsharp.”
My eyes went wild. I felt like going to meet him and beating him to stupor. Wished I had some power like the super heroes but I could do nothing. What the friend said next made me want to fly out immediately.
“O boy, when u don suck your orange comot, leave small for the boys make we suck small too ooo’
” Sure na, as e dey go normal normal’
“Haaaa” I exclaimed within me.
“I am dead. How can I escape from this place. O Lord have mercy oooo,’ I cried within me. I raised up my head a bit to see if the voices I heard were those of Yinka and his friend. I was shocked to find that it was theirs. I couldn’t even hear them again because my heart beat was so loud in my ear I was afraid my eardrum would burst.

Leave a comment